Monthly Archives: November 2014

Will you be able to settle my case without filing a lawsuit?

Answer: When I started practicing law and working on personal injury cases in 1987, I filed suit only about half of the time because the insurance claim representative and I could usually negotiate a fair settlement. Now days, I file suit about 90% of the time. Why is that? Because insurance companies offer low ball settlement offers hoping that they will be accepted. They do this because there are plenty of attorneys who will take a quick settlement even if the case is worth more if it is properly litigated. Why do these attorneys take bad settlements? My belief is that lawyers who advertise on TV have driven down the settlement value of cases. How does that happen? While there are some very good attorneys who advertise on TV, I believe that many of them are more interested in generating a positive cash flow so they keep their advertising paid…
Read More »

Posted in Personal Injury | Comments Off on Will you be able to settle my case without filing a lawsuit?

Will you be able to settle my case so I don’t have to go to trial?

Answer: The simple fact is that most lawsuits get settled before they go to trial. The reason for that is that it is very expensive and risky to go to trial. Even simple injury cases can generate attorney’s fees and court costs of $10,000-$20,000 and up for each side. And litigation always has risks. No attorney can guarantee a result if your case goes to trial. Any attorney who gives you guarantees in litigation should be avoided. Consider this: thousands of cases go to trial each year across the country and roughly half of all of those litigants lose. So, since trials are expensive and risky, fewer and fewer trials are being held and the vast majority of cases are settled. Does that mean your case is guaranteed to settled? No, once again there are no guarantees, but it is highly likely that it will settle before trial.

Posted in Personal Injury | Comments Off on Will you be able to settle my case so I don’t have to go to trial?

Question: What auto insurance coverage is required by the State of Nevada?

Answer: The State of Nevada requires bodily injury (BI) coverage in the amount of $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident and $10,000 for property damage. So, if you had only the state’s minimum coverage, your policy would pay no more than $15,000 for one person’s personal injuries such as that person’s medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, etc. plus up to $10,000 in property damage which is typically for the other person’s car repairs. It doesn’t take a genius to see that these low coverages won’t go far when an emergency room visit can easily cost $10,000 and new cars start at $15,000 and go up quickly from there.

Posted in Personal Injury | Comments Off on Question: What auto insurance coverage is required by the State of Nevada?