Frequently Asked Questions about Car Accidents in Nevada
Who is held liable for my car accident?
There are many factors that will determine the cause of a car accident and who will be held at fault. Depending on the case, there may be one driver who will be held liable, several drivers (in a multi-vehicle accident), vehicle manufacturers (if it is determined there was something faulty with the vehicle), or even maintenance workers (if they didn’t perform adequate work on commercial trucks and other responsible parties). With 290 traffic fatalities in Nevada in 2014, the police and the insurance company have specific guidelines they follow to investigate Nevada car accidents to determine who is at fault.
Here at Eric A. Stovall, Ltd, we gather police reports, photos and other evidence to determine who is held liable for your car damages and injuries. We will perform a comprehensive evaluation of your car accident case to determine the best course of action so you can receive compensation.
Should I go to the hospital or see my doctor even though I wasn’t injured?
We recommend that anyone who has been in a Nevada car accident be medically evaluated by their regular doctor or by medical staff. It’s possible that you got an injury that is not currently causing you pain or immobility issues. Also, be aware that medical problems may appear days or even weeks after the accident. Having your medical condition documented now can provide advantages later on in your case if you seek compensation for your injuries in a court of law.
Should I speak to the attorney who represents the other driver in the accident?
No. You could very well end up signing away your rights or accidentally claiming responsibility for an accident. If any attorney approaches you who is representing the other parties in the accident, you should immediately call Attorney Eric A. Stovall, Ltd. We can make sure to protect your rights and prevent you from claiming any liability in the case that can lessen the amount of compensation you could receive in a Nevada court of law.
Can I still file a claim if my accident happened several years ago?
In the state of Nevada, there is a statute of limitations on when a person can file a claim for damages and injuries. Presently, the limitation is 2 years for negligence. This means that if the other driver was negligent when driving his motor vehicle to cause the accident, you have within 2 years from the date that the accident occurred to file the claim. Unfortunately, the Nevada legislature may revise the statute at any time as it is advisable that you speak with a Nevada attorney who is up-to-date on the current accident laws to ensure you file your case in time. Even if the 2 years have passed, you should still talk to us here at Eric A. Stovall, Ltd. as there may be extenuating circumstances that will allow the time frame to be extended.
How long will it take for me to receive compensation?
It will depend on the type of case that is filed, the number of people who are held liable for the accident, and how the case is settled. Since there are so many factors based on each particular case that we take on for Nevada residents, it is difficult to give a timeline on when you can get compensation. We here at Eric A. Stovall, Ltd. strives to settle your case out of court in the quickest time possible with professionalism and diligence so you receive the desired amount for damages and injuries. Yet there is always the possibility that your case goes to court. It can take several months to a year for the case to be concluded.
I have more questions about my Nevada car accident; who can I call?
A car accident can cause a number of questions in regards to liability and filing a claim. If you have questions or are seeking representation in Nevada, contact attorney Eric A. Stovall, Ltd. for a free consultation. We can demystify the Nevada car accident claims process for you.