Learn The Most Important Motorcycle Laws In Nevada
Our Motorcycle Accident Attorney Explains What To Know
Motorcyclists in Nevada enjoy some of the most scenic rides in the country. The thrill of the open road is certainly alive and well within the state, no matter what your purpose or destination, there is no doubt that Nevada is a great state for riding.
If you are considering taking a journey across or through our state, it is important to know the Nevada motorcycle laws, as well as your rights and legal obligations as a motorcyclist. Eric A. Stovall, Ltd. also provides information about frequently asked questions that you need to know after suffering injuries in motorcycle accidents.
Nevada Legal Code for Motorcycles
The legal code for motorcycles in Nevada is NRS – Chapter 486. Motorcycle riders need to follow these laws. Follow these links to get a copy of the Nevada Motorcycle Manual and a copy of the Nevada Motorcycle Equipment Requirements. Read both carefully.
Motorcycle Registration Requirements
When a person moves to Nevada, they must register all vehicles, including motorcycles, with the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within the first thirty days. Electric bicycles and mopeds that are 50cc or less, with a two horsepower motor or less, and capable of a maximum speed of no more than 30 MPH, are currently exempt from registration. Starting January 1, 2017, mopeds need registration and license plates (this new law is designed to reduce theft).
Motorcycle License Requirements
To ride a moped (under 50cc) or a trimobile (a motorcycle with three wheels) on a public street, a person only needs to have a regular “Class C” driver’s license. They do not need a motorcycle endorsement.
Under NRS-486.061, in order to ride a motorcycle on public roads a person needs to have a motorcycle-operating license or have a driver’s license endorsed for motorcycles. Under NRS-480.091, the Nevada DMV accepts transfers of licenses from other states and the driving record from the other state becomes part of the Nevada DMV records.
If a person does not have a motorcycle-operating license or a driver’s license endorsed for motorcycles from another state, they will need to get one from the Nevada DMV. To accomplish this they either complete an approved training course or take a written test plus a motorcycle riding skills test in order to get the motorcycle license or endorsement on a driver’s license. The license and endorsement in Nevada for motorcycles is “Class M.”
There are also restrictions for the type of motorcycle a rider may ride, depending on the kind of motorcycle the person used for taking the skilled riding test.
- Helmet – With the exception of electric bicycles and mopeds (under 50cc), all motorcycle and trimobile riders and their passengers must wear a helmet.
- Insurance – The minimum insurance required in Nevada for motorcycles is 15/30/10. This means $15,000 for one person injured, $30,000 for two or more injured, and $10,000 to pay for property damage from the accident. Wise people have more insurance coverage than the minimum required because of the possibility of a lawsuit. Always carry proof of insurance when riding.
- “At-fault” state (also called a “tort” state). This means that the person or persons that caused the accident are liable for damages caused by the accident. This also means that any persons injured in the accident or the family members of any person killed in the accident can bring a lawsuit against the person(s) who caused the accident.
- DUI – Driving under the influence of alcohol, marijuana, or drugs (including prescribed pharmaceuticals) is a serious offense in Nevada. Jail time for the first offense is a minimum of two days up to six months. The second offense is a minimum of ten days up to six months. For a third offense, the jail time for a felony conviction is a minimum of one year up to six years in state prison. If someone dies from the accident, this is manslaughter. For this offense, the jail time is a minimum of two years up to twenty years.
Motorcycle Accidents that Create a Personal Injury Case
Nevada personal injury attorney Eric A. Stovall gives sage advice about what to do when injured in a motorcycle accident. The key concerns are the causation of the accident, determining who is at fault, and seeking compensation for injuries or wrongful death. If you or a loved one has been injured or killed in a motorcycle accident, contact an experienced attorney right away.
If you have an adoption or surrogacy issue, please see our other website, www.NevadaAdoptionLawyer.com
Washoe County Bar Association
AV Preeminent® by Martindale-Hubbell®
State Bar of Nevada
Expertise Best Personal Injury Lawyer
Get Your Free ConsultationServing Injury Victims and Their Families Throughout NevadA
Call Attorney Eric A. Stovall at (775) 256-5757 to discuss your case today.